What you want and what you need

Some days running is like that Rolling Stones’ song: You don’t always get what you want, but you get what you need.

The good news is I ran today, the first time in a week.  I joined a group of friends, leaving from central Fredericton and we headed out aiming for six miles out and then back before tackling three laps of the Colonial Drive Hill. I hoped to clock 20 miles today.

Overall, I wasn’t feeling too bad. On Friday I’d gone to massage and gotten the soles of my feet stripped, a painful process that brought tears to my eyes. But while I was sore the next day, my foot felt better overall.  Certainly after a week on the spin bike, I was more than ready to get outside.

The day was gusty, to say the least, with the wind blowing up to 41 km. an hour. At one point, I found myself on a long, steady uphill grade with Tim and Leah and every time we reached an open area, the wind blasted us from the side. The reward came on the way back as the tail wind pushed us along, making the pace effortless.

At 12 km. I started to feel my left foot tighten and by 14 km I was trying to favour my right, giving me a hop-along gait. At 16 km, I was relieved to discover Mark was parked in his van in order to pick up Linda at that point. I asked for a ride.

More often than not, runners are their own worst enemy. I remember meeting runners who would be running on stress fractures just because they wanted to run.  Injuries are a common part of running; it seems like someone is always working through some issue within the circle of runners I know. But we’re terrible at accepting the fact that we might need to rest to allow the problem to heal.

I wanted to run 20 miles today. I needed to run less – and I did. I hope that decision means that I’ll run longer sooner rather than sit things out on the sidelines longer.

About subthree

A multiple award-winning journalist, I'm currently a contributing editor with both Canadian Running and Canadian Cycling magazines. My articles have appeared in Explore, Canadian Geographic, enRoute, The National Post, The Globe and Mail, and many other magazines and newspapers. Formerly a competitive cross-country mountain biker, I switched to running in 2006. I've run seven marathons, qualifying for Boston five times (and which I've run once). Generally, I've placed or won in my age group in races, in distances ranging from five and 10 kms to half and full marathons. I've also taught spin classes at a number of leading Eastern Canadian gyms. Sub-three was a 2012 #Runchat finalist for Best Overall Blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What you want and what you need

  1. Tammy says:

    It’s tough. You just want it so bad. But you are right, if we don’t take the rest we, we eventually won’t be running at all.

  2. Ian Cordner says:

    The wind today was incredibly strong, coming as usual from the west. I fought it as far as the Woodstock Rd. / Prospect junction then turned up the hill for a return home. It’s been 14 months since foot surgery for removal of some bone that didn’t belong and the foot remains numb around the ball area and is generally sore after most runs. It precludes any more marathons I guess so I am now retired from racing but still run for the enjoyment of it when the foot allows it!

Leave a Reply

