My Run: Can you say Shubenacadie?

The Runner

Cathy Carter

Construction company administrator and “chronic race volunteer”

Current home: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia

Age: 41

Carter says she’s run regularly for seven years, but ran as a “fair weather jogger” during university. “I started running because I thought it was what the cool people did and now I know the truth,” Carter laughs.

Carter claims that she was such a book worm growing up that it took completing the Boston Marathon to stop her mother from asking if she finished every race she entered.

“I am most proud of my first half marathon and my first marathon. No one thought I would complete either of them and I happily proved them wrong.”

To date, Carter calls her most amazing running experience pacing her partner to his finish in the Leadville Trail 100.

The run

Place: Waverley Road, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia

Length: 10 miles

Difficulty: Intermediate. The route offers some rolling hills, good climbs coming and going as you cross the 1.3 km-long Angus L. Macdonald Bridge from Halifax into Dartmouth and, if you really want to punish yourself, you can take a side jaunt over to Maple Street. The latter is a short, steep hill used to punish runners in the Bluenose Marathon late in the second half of the race.

The route

Carter calls this run “my 10-mile route.” She leaves from her Halifax home and runs over the Angus L. Macdonald Bridge into neighbouring Dartmouth. From there, it’s possible to connect to the Waverley Road on a number of streets, but  a common route is to head up Windmill Road, following it as it changes into Alderney Drive.

From there, cut up Ochterloney Street. Ochterloney turns into Prince Albert Street as Lake Banook comes into view. Then as Lake Banook drains into Lake Micmac, you find yourself on the Waverley Road, a gently rolling route.

Carter runs out to the bus stop just past the Shubenacadie Campground and then turns around to head back. At that point, if you’re craving extra miles, it’s possible to jump into Shubie Park and run the winding, peaceful trails, which at the far end of Lake Charles and back adds another 10 km onto your run.

What is it Carter enjoys about this route? “It has hills, a bridge, a lake, a decent amount of flat terrain, and you never feel far from home.”

About subthree

A multiple award-winning journalist, I'm currently a contributing editor with both Canadian Running and Canadian Cycling magazines. My articles have appeared in Explore, Canadian Geographic, enRoute, The National Post, The Globe and Mail, and many other magazines and newspapers. Formerly a competitive cross-country mountain biker, I switched to running in 2006. I've run seven marathons, qualifying for Boston five times (and which I've run once). Generally, I've placed or won in my age group in races, in distances ranging from five and 10 kms to half and full marathons. I've also taught spin classes at a number of leading Eastern Canadian gyms. Sub-three was a 2012 #Runchat finalist for Best Overall Blog.
This entry was posted in My Run and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Run: Can you say Shubenacadie?

  1. SeeAlliRun says:

    That is definitely not a Newfie-Proof word! But I do like that area, especially Shubie Park.

    • subthree says:

      I’ve always loved the run alongside my namesake lake out and back in Shubie. It’s got lots of little rollers, is normally very quiet, and is a great place to get into a groove.

  2. Trevor M. says:

    Shubenacadie is easier to pronounce than Stewiacke! I enjoy reading your blog.

  3. Noel says:

    Nice piece Charles, used to live in Cooks Brook, NS but my address was RR#2 Shubenacadie 🙂

Leave a Reply

