The Tuesday Kick: She blinded me with science!

Science and technology all wrapped up in a shoe

The shoe

Newton Gravity

The official description

Newton says their 8.4 ounce performance trainer is designed to encourage a natural run, “with greater efficiency and less overuse injuries. ”  The Gravity is supposed to offer “a fast flexible ride with greater energy return and less impact.”

Some of the shoe’s features include metatarsal stretch panels in the upper for comfort and fit, “action/reaction technology” in the forefoot and heel, and a carbon rubber heel.

We say

With all that science and technology poured into one shoe, no wonder it’s called a Newton!

Who wears it

Ann Brennan, 43, is an editor, writer and blogger (http://www.annsrunningcommentary.com/) who lives near Annapolis, Maryland. She describes the latter as a great running town. “We have the world’s best running club, The Annapolis Striders and absolutely gorgeous places to run.”

How nice is it? Brennan says venturing out even in the worst weather, you’ll still encounter dozens of runners.

Brennan began running 20 years ago this past January, shortly after she and her husband were married. “My husband and I realized that we needed to lose some weight and began a running program that summer.”

Within six months, the couple ran their first five and 10 km races and a 10 miler, and kept going ever since. Since, Brennan has run a baker’s dozen marathons, including a 50-miler. Her marathon PR came in 2009 when she completed the Marine Corps Marathon in 4:07. That same year, she ran some 12 races and experienced personal bests in all of them.

“It was the best running year of my life,” Brennan says, who began her running blog the same year. “I don’t know if it was coincidence or not, but I think probably had something to do with the fact that I was writing about running and focusing more on the training because of it.”

Why she likes them

Asked by the owner of the Natural Running Store what the perfect running shoe would be if she could build it, Brennan said she wanted something light, but with a snug fit so that it would feel secure side-to-side. She also wanted low-to-no drop.

“I started wearing Newton’s after rupturing my plantar fascia and realizing that many of my injuries came from my running form. I wanted to change to more of a mid-foot strike and the Newtons are designed to help with this.”

It doesn’t take a lot of math to figure out that for Brennan the Newtons add up to a great run.

About subthree

A multiple award-winning journalist, I'm currently a contributing editor with both Canadian Running and Canadian Cycling magazines. My articles have appeared in Explore, Canadian Geographic, enRoute, The National Post, The Globe and Mail, and many other magazines and newspapers. Formerly a competitive cross-country mountain biker, I switched to running in 2006. I've run seven marathons, qualifying for Boston five times (and which I've run once). Generally, I've placed or won in my age group in races, in distances ranging from five and 10 kms to half and full marathons. I've also taught spin classes at a number of leading Eastern Canadian gyms. Sub-three was a 2012 #Runchat finalist for Best Overall Blog.
This entry was posted in The Tuesday Kick and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Tuesday Kick: She blinded me with science!

  1. Ann says:

    My new pair of Newtons just arrived in the mail. Can’t wait to run in them. Thanks so much for featuring and my kicks.

  2. Rebekah says:

    This could be a good tweak for your plantar recovery. My injury-prone brother-in-law just bought his second pair and swears by them. (Not to mention, they come in cool colors!)

Leave a Reply

