Guest blogger: On motivation

Just to shake things up a bit – like it was needed, right? – I’ve decided from time to time to invite some guest bloggers.

Okay, truth be told: this blogging is friggin’ hard work and there’s a million bloggers out there and I thought I’d network them all together  like in the Matrix. I’d have a massive chamber containing thousands of bloggers, their brains all connected to a central word processor and  they’d do all my blogging for me! Bwahahahaha!

Well, that’s not quite right either.

I just thought everyone might enjoy hearing a different voice and new perspective from time to time.

Although, seriously, that networked blogging brain idea deserves some consideration.

Really.

Okay, in all seriousness: today’s blog comes from Yellow Haired Girl. Like me, she’s Canadian and works in the media. And, no, I don’t know her real name and nor do any of her readers; she prefers to keep her blogging and her work well separated.

Yellow Haired Girl (or to her friends, YHG) is, in her own words “dedicated to living a healthy lifestyle.” She “rambles” on about food, workouts, reality TV, and the beauty of the weekend. You can read her blog here: http://www.yellowhairedgirl.com/

And now, without further ado, I’ll let YHG take over.

Finding motivation can be tough sometimes, am I right? I work out in the morning, and getting out of bed can be a serious challenge. Sometimes, just the thought of putting on sweatpants can be terrible. And lacing up shoes? Like, bending over and actually doing them up? Fuggedaboutit.

That’s why I seek out (and occasionally create my own) sources of motivation.

Need ideas on how to stay amped up about working out? Here are three of my tried, tested, and true tips:

1) I’ve found in the past that not having a goal to work towards can really allow my motivation to slide. I’ve never been a person who wanted to lose a certain amount of weight or had a race to train for, so I’ve had to force myself to make goals. This way, I’m not simply putting in time at the gym. My latest goal? I want spectacular arms by the end of August. I’m going to be a bridesmaid in a wedding … and I’m pretty sure I’m going to be in a strapless dress. It’s not that I have bad arms now, I actually kind of like them. But by making that my mission, I’m motivated to crawl out of bed and get to the gym every morning. Making yourself a promise, even a minor one, could make the difference between lacing up your shoes and not.

2) Why don’t you try shaking up your routine? Boredom can be a big motivation killer, I’ve been there. The first time I tried mixin’ it up was with a Zumba class, and I absolutely loved it. The next time I got bored with my regular workout, I subbed in an aquasize class (no, I’m not 65 years old … although my friends and I were the youngest participants by at least 25 years). You may find something you really love, and when you love what you’re doing … how can it be considered work?!

3) If you exercise in the morning like me, try sleeping in your gym clothes the night before. I’m serious. When the alarm goes off at six a.m. and you’re already dressed and prepared to walk out the door, you really have zero excuse to skip out. And honestly, what’s comfier than gym clothes? Try it. I do it all the time.

About subthree

A multiple award-winning journalist, I'm currently a contributing editor with both Canadian Running and Canadian Cycling magazines. My articles have appeared in Explore, Canadian Geographic, enRoute, The National Post, The Globe and Mail, and many other magazines and newspapers. Formerly a competitive cross-country mountain biker, I switched to running in 2006. I've run seven marathons, qualifying for Boston five times (and which I've run once). Generally, I've placed or won in my age group in races, in distances ranging from five and 10 kms to half and full marathons. I've also taught spin classes at a number of leading Eastern Canadian gyms. Sub-three was a 2012 #Runchat finalist for Best Overall Blog.
This entry was posted in Guest blogs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Guest blogger: On motivation

  1. Rebekah says:

    Love it! I’m going to try sleeping in my workout clothes. Brilliant.

  2. Your writing always makes me laugh!

    • subthree says:

      And one of these days, I’ll actually have to try and be funny. Pa-dum! Hey folks, I’m around all week…don’t go anywhere….Seriously, thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

