Hello, naked people!

Now that I have your attention….

But, honestly, that isn’t just a cheap ploy to get you over here. It actually has to do with running and this blog – as you will see.

It’s been a while since I did some house-keeping over at Sub-three. That little thing called life keeps getting in the way.

Darn you, life!

But seriously, folks. Here’s the deal: May 17th marked three months of Sub-three (I know, you all are thinking, feels like a million years to me) and I’m thrilled to say this blog easily topped 12,500 views. In fact, as I write this, views stood at precisely 12,800.

Thanks to each and every one of you for reading. Please, don’t be shy. Comment on posts. Let me know more of what you’d like to see, and if you’re so inclined, hit the follow button so you get email updates.

Okay, no more crass pleas for greater readership (Oh please, please read this blog, I’m begging ya). Really. I mean it now.

First, a bit of house-keeping: I’m in the process of moving to a new city and, obviously, that’s a bit time-consuming. While I’m not going to cut back on posting (I can hear all of you chiming in now: Please, do. Spare us. Don’t you have any hobbies?), it does mean The Tuesday Kick is only going to be sporadic until the fall.

Why The Tuesday Kick? Because it’s easily the most work-intensive piece I put together each work – and, oddly, it seems to be one of the least read features. Personally, I like The Tuesday Kick, so it’s here to stay, but just not for every Tuesday over the summer.

So what has been popular? Anything on Micah True, the ultrarunner, has attracted a large readership. The Sunday Read, my regular round-up of weekly running links, does well, as do some of the essay-type pieces I’ve written, such as Prefontaine’s Garmin, about running without gadgets.

But the most popular piece, hands-down, ever?

You guessed it: Run naked.

The day it was published, that post drew 2,251 views (of the post; there was no actual skin to be seen) in a single day. And it’s had a good life since. In fact, in the last few days it started attracting views again – to my puzzlement and bemusement – 28 today, which is unusual several weeks after publication.

Out of curiosity, I did a track-back on the source that appeared to be directing traffic to my site and discovered that the piece has gained traction in the nudist community. Er, not what I expected, but hello, naked people! I applaud your interest in running and thank you for reading.

The source of the renewed interest is http://homeclothesfree.tumblr.com/ This site is nsfw. It looks to be a pretty comprehensive round-up of nudist-related blogs on the Interwebz, not that I would know. ~cough~

But, hey, I welcome all readers, naked and otherwise, with an interest in running.

And what about running? After all, wasn’t that the original premise of this blog? Well, it’s been…okay. Recently, I had a couple of good jaunts in Halifax, and a couple of not-so-great runs here at home. That elusive sub-three marathon, the whole reason I started blogging, ironically seems farther away than ever; however, the blog itself has become its own journey.

Again, thanks for sticking with this to date. I promise some interesting content is coming up in the weeks ahead.

About subthree

A multiple award-winning journalist, I'm currently a contributing editor with both Canadian Running and Canadian Cycling magazines. My articles have appeared in Explore, Canadian Geographic, enRoute, The National Post, The Globe and Mail, and many other magazines and newspapers. Formerly a competitive cross-country mountain biker, I switched to running in 2006. I've run seven marathons, qualifying for Boston five times (and which I've run once). Generally, I've placed or won in my age group in races, in distances ranging from five and 10 kms to half and full marathons. I've also taught spin classes at a number of leading Eastern Canadian gyms. Sub-three was a 2012 #Runchat finalist for Best Overall Blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hello, naked people!

  1. Noortje says:

    We are sorry to see you go! But if you organize a naked run over there, we might drop in for a visit! Good luck on the move!

    • subthree says:

      Noortje, congratulations on your marathon. I hope you’re finding your running legs again. I’m not gone yet, not until mid-July. I’m not anticipating organizing any naked runs – yet. But if I do, I promise you’ll be the first to know.

  2. Rob Jackson says:

    Charles, I always remove all of my clothing before starting to read your blog. It’s the most effective way of keeping my clothing from getting, you know, …. dirty. So, when you hit that “publish” button, there’s no need to ask yourself: “I wonder what Rob is wearing?” Now you know.

  3. Dawn Ladds-Bond says:

    Thanks for keeping us informed and entertained, Charles.

    • subthree says:

      You know, Dawn, when naked people read your blog, I believe it’s important that the world know. As for the entertainment, I’m not sure what you mean…? LOL

  4. I find the search term that leads most visitors to my own site is “Jenn Shelton”. I wondered what would happen if I published a spurious piece about her being naked? Us runners are a dirty minded bunch…

Leave a Reply

