The Hunter S. Thompson of running

This is seriously sweet.

It’s National Running Day and Canadian Running magazine just published a piece on inspirational blogs. Among them? Sub-three.

Honestly, I’m not sure how inspirational I am. I’ve spent a lot of time whining about having plantar, spilled a bit of ink writing on peoples’ shoes, and published and linked to a lot of stories, ranging from controversial to the just plain strange.

I’ve written about running naked, Steve Prefontaine’s Garmin (check it out), races at the North Pole, spats between bloggers and more.

If that inspires you, run harder!

In fact, I’d like to think my readers are not faint of heart, but game for anything running-related. Really, the recent piece about the phallic medals at an Irish marathon was a little off-beat.

Thanks for hanging in there, folks. It will only get odder, I assure you. Indeed, maybe I’ll be able carve out a niche as the Hunter S. Thompson of the running world.

In fact, I can see it now: my attorney – a 300-pound Samoan (but, man, can he run) and I, pounding along the strip during the Las Vegas Rock and Roll Marathon when, at mile 20, the drugs kick in. Suddenly we’re racing a herd of Republican lizards in the desert and the water stops only have tequila  and I’m over budget, late for deadline, over-extended, but have all the alcohol and firearms I could ever need.

Sorry.

Got carried away there for a second. But if I ever run Las Vegas, that’s how it will totally be, baby!

Okay. I’m okay now. Seriously. Our regular programming resumes now.

I’d like to thank Canadian Running’s blogger, Noel Paine, for including me in the list. Here’s the link: http://bit.ly/Khg6u6

I’m honored to be included in the list, which includes world record joggler Michal Kaprel, Sweat Science columnist Alex Hutchinson, and Allison Mowat, whose blog on gear, and gratefulness (check out her column on Tuesdays about thankfulness) is found on my blogroll.

My promise to you: I will continue to write about incredible races to run, ask runners to dissect their shoes and tell you why they like them or not, bring you the week’s top running stories, connect you to gear I believe is worthwhile, and blog about my own running journey.

You know what I’m going to say now – but I still have to say it: Thanks for reading!

About subthree

A multiple award-winning journalist, I'm currently a contributing editor with both Canadian Running and Canadian Cycling magazines. My articles have appeared in Explore, Canadian Geographic, enRoute, The National Post, The Globe and Mail, and many other magazines and newspapers. Formerly a competitive cross-country mountain biker, I switched to running in 2006. I've run seven marathons, qualifying for Boston five times (and which I've run once). Generally, I've placed or won in my age group in races, in distances ranging from five and 10 kms to half and full marathons. I've also taught spin classes at a number of leading Eastern Canadian gyms. Sub-three was a 2012 #Runchat finalist for Best Overall Blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Hunter S. Thompson of running

  1. Dawn Ladds-Bond says:

    Thanks for all the inspiration you’ve given me over the last few months!

  2. Ririnette says:

    Well deserved! I have been a fan for a few months already. Whenever your blogs get pushed at the top of the blogroll, it puts a smile on my face.

    • subthree says:

      Thank you! What a great thing to say. It gives me great joy to hear that I can make you smile. To make each other happy is among the best things we can do. And you’ve made me smile. Thanks again.

  3. Eric says:

    Dude, this is great…and well deserved! Always and interesting, educational, entertaining and full of running weirdness.

Leave a Reply

