In which I fall flat on my face

The sharp pain in my right knee and the dull bang in my left hand were the most immediate sensations.

“Do you want to take a breather?” one of the other runners asked.

“No, no. I’m okay,” I replied, springing to my feet and setting off like nothing had happened.

The last time I’d been trail running was about six months ago and it was on the exact same trail on which – without warning – I’d just tripped and landed face-first, momentarily breathless on the ground.

Marysville is a popular mountain biking spot in North Fredericton. The trail winds up and down a hillside and is studded with large rocks, plenty of rubble, and tons of roots, all waiting to trip the inattentive runner.

I was out with the Radical Edge Trail Runners, a new group that had attracted about 17 runners on its second outing. It was unusual for me to be running on a Monday evening. Normally, Mondays are my day off as I run semi-long on Saturdays and long on Sundays.

But I really wanted to hit the trails again – just not quite in the literal way I did when I found myself on my hands and knees, contemplating the dirt up close.

Some of the trails we ran carried names like Wilson’s Loop and Swanky. All of them offered short, steep climbs, brisk dips, and rocks, roots. and plenty of ferns, bushes and trees brushing your arms and legs as we whisked past.

I wasn’t feeling so spry when we began. I’d run 23 km the day before, including 10 short fartleks of 30 seconds on and then 30 seconds easy, as well as about five km at marathon pace.

That seemed paltry compared to one of the other runners, who the day before rode 193 km, including 25 of those at full-out race pace in a criterium.

It was time to suck it up, buttercup.

This is the part where I tell you that I did. I led the pack, charging up hills, bounding downhill, springing off rocks and nimbly dodging roots, running like the endurance animal that biologists say is the heritage of homo sapiens.

Except it wasn’t quite like that.

Right off the start is a 200 metre or so climb up double track, which then turns left into a single track ascent that immediately requires you to start briskly stepping over roots and legging up over large rocks.

I was winded and breathing hard. I went from the first third to the bottom third within less than a kilometre, and then I stayed there, where I grimly held on, following a couple of women who seemed to float like gazelles over the obstacles. Behind them came my grotesque heaving breath and my stumbling footfall.

Thankfully, we had short breaks at intersections, where I could quietly wheeze while the sweat poured off me in rivers and where I could discreetly turn away to hide the strings of drool issuing from my mouth.

One of the worst things about being back of the pack, of course, is you never really get to rest because by the time you pull even with the front-runners, they’ve impatiently been waiting for you for the last 15 minutes and immediately take off again.

So I’d ignore the flashing lights in front of my eyes, the shooting pain in my right knee, and bravely – heaving for breath – set out again.

Trail running is fun.

That’s what I told myself in a grim little voice over and over again. This is great. I’m having fun.  Oh fuck, I’m going to collapse and wish I was home with a beer.

And then around seven km, a miraculous thing happened: I began to pass runners. First it was one, then two, then a couple more, and the next thing I knew I found myself running up front and feeling good.

All the awkwardness of trying to find my stride, all the worry about stumbling, vanished. I had endurance. I had flow.

Throughout the run, I’d been telling myself to quiet my mind, instead constantly chattering away to myself: look how smoothly the woman in front is running; I’ll put these details in my blog post; to run well on trails I need to silence the talk in my head – and so on.

But suddenly I was moving easily through the trail, no thoughts, just pumping my arms and legs, happy to be running, grateful for my breath, giddy with the day.

When we returned to the cars, my knee hurt more than ever. I was dusty, bruised, covered with bug bites and could hardly wait to go again.

About subthree

A multiple award-winning journalist, I'm currently a contributing editor with both Canadian Running and Canadian Cycling magazines. My articles have appeared in Explore, Canadian Geographic, enRoute, The National Post, The Globe and Mail, and many other magazines and newspapers. Formerly a competitive cross-country mountain biker, I switched to running in 2006. I've run seven marathons, qualifying for Boston five times (and which I've run once). Generally, I've placed or won in my age group in races, in distances ranging from five and 10 kms to half and full marathons. I've also taught spin classes at a number of leading Eastern Canadian gyms. Sub-three was a 2012 #Runchat finalist for Best Overall Blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to In which I fall flat on my face

  1. Dawn Ladds-Bond says:

    Woo hoo, Charles! Way to go! Bruises heal. Pride is forever.

  2. SeeAlliRun says:

    Hope you didn’t do any serious damage, but glad you had fun 🙂

    • subthree says:

      Just a bit of bruising, nothing major. Love trail running. It’s a great way to mix things up, take a break from the road and get a solid plyometric workout in all at the same time. Thanks for reading, as always.

  3. Sara Mandel says:

    I don’t know if it’s your great writing, my own love of uneven surfaces, my masochistic streak, or all of the above, but this piece make me want to go trail running.( Not that I’d get very far.)

    • subthree says:

      Nicely put: uneven surfaces and masochism are absolutely part of trail running. You’d get further than you think, Sara. A couple of the people there hadn’t run more than 5 km, and yet completed nearly 10 this evening (of course, they’ll be stiff tomorrow, lol). But trail running doesn’t have to be done fast to enjoy it.

  4. So glad you came out!! We missed you for that winning beer at The Garrison! It was definitely well deserved after that masacre of a run. We won’t let Douthwright lead again 😉 Can’t wait to see you next week! Thanks for the post! Great Run!

    • subthree says:

      Damn! Didn’t know about beer at the Garrison after. Fail. Adam is a monster: killing the run after all those bike miles last week. And speaking of killing it, you had a great run. You survived! Lol. Thanks for taking the time to read my ramble.

  5. Carol Egan says:

    Hey Charles,
    As ever, your humble approach is respectful, and, respectable, as with every word you utter. 🙂 This brings me back, to running, and in particular, to the Brookvale Trail Ultra, albeit, I did only 25…for pleasure : ) Is there anything better than a trail run? I will leave that with you and your readers.

    So love hearing of you, and seeing your word! Charles, you are wonderful! It is so true, a trail run is good for body and soul…and a “fall”, well, that is just a pleasant part of it all.

    • subthree says:

      I used to love mountain biking and running in Brookvale when I lived on the island. In fact, I recently wrote about Brookvale for the Trail issue of Canadian Running. Thank you for your kind comments. I appreciate them.

  6. Stacy Lazar says:

    As someone who’s recently tried trail running for the first time (part of my personal change-up-your-routine campaign), I love this. Something they don’t tell you in the manual? It’s hard! I sometimes find it even harder on my body than pavement, which according to research is supposed to break my knees and joints or something. Bet that beer tasted nice though!

    • subthree says:

      It is hard, isn’t it? I think it’s all the sudden lateral motion and the bounding and constant shifting in surface. If you’re not used to it, the run becomes a pretty vigorous workout. It was supposed to have been my super-easy run yesterday though and it wasn’t. I’ll feel it today; in fact, I already do. My knee is quick to remind me what I was up to last night. Ha. Thanks for reading, Stacy.

Leave a Reply

