Wither, Sub-three?

So whatever happened to that Sub-three guy? Not so long ago he used to post all manner of informative posts (at least to himself), and entertain hundreds mom, and generally show off his witwisdomwriting, grasp of nude running.

But these days, he’s silent – a relief to the vast majority of the World Wide Web, but his mom still wants to know why he never calls.

As impossible and improbable as it is to contemplate, I actually have a life. Full stop.

Truth.

I do. Really. Why do you guys always make me protest and beg? I mean, I do, I do have a life and it’s full of stuff…and things…and, well, stuff. And it’s busy.

Okay, I sound a bit defensive. But you know there’s more to life than running. For instance, there’s…uh, shoes…and, well, running web sites, and, ahem, inspirational running pictures with sayings under them on Facebook. So there!

Seriously, though, I know I’ve failed you all. Each and everyone one of you. I promised to uphold certain standards, and instead I’ve become a flawed character with a story so bad, so toxic, and I was a bully in that I tried to control the narrative.

Oh wait. That was Lance on Oprah the other night.

Speaking of Oprah, I was telling running friends today how she ripped the idea for her show off of me. I was all set to launch: Opah!

Opah! was going to feature the best in Retsina, how to roll the perfect Dolmades, and other heart-healthy and inspirational Greek cultural trends, and then the next thing I know this woman named Oprah has appropriated my idea, but instead of celebrating Greek culture she’s inviting celebrities onto her show and making them cook, then workout and then cry. Well, that pretty much crushed my idea.

But where was I?

Oh yeah: I’ve had a brief hiatus from blogging (which online probably adds up to about a million years), but things are busy around here.

You know, seriously: like,  I’ve been injured and that requires a lot of reclining on couches, chugging bottles of Chivas Regal and the like. It’s no bed or roses, you know.

Mostly, though, I just wanted to reassure everyone (mom) that with the million-year silence here that Sub-three will be back to its regular posting schedule. That means more Sunday Reads, more In Which I…, more Read it, run its, and the return of The Tuesday Kick!

Wow.

Don’t all jump at once everyone.

Last time I saw such enthusiasm I think I was in line at elementary school for the strap at the principal’s office – not that that was a regular thing!

Em…anyway, moving along: it’s been busy here, what with all the Chivas Regal…uh, training, I mean. Yes, training! And stuff. But don’t touch that dial! Same Sub-three time! Same Sub-three channel!

About subthree

A multiple award-winning journalist, I'm currently a contributing editor with both Canadian Running and Canadian Cycling magazines. My articles have appeared in Explore, Canadian Geographic, enRoute, The National Post, The Globe and Mail, and many other magazines and newspapers. Formerly a competitive cross-country mountain biker, I switched to running in 2006. I've run seven marathons, qualifying for Boston five times (and which I've run once). Generally, I've placed or won in my age group in races, in distances ranging from five and 10 kms to half and full marathons. I've also taught spin classes at a number of leading Eastern Canadian gyms. Sub-three was a 2012 #Runchat finalist for Best Overall Blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wither, Sub-three?

  1. Irina says:

    Wheeee! Welcome back 🙂 don’t feel too bad, I am still crunching 2012 numbers. Happy New Year by the way! 😉

  2. Rina Martin says:

    I’m sure your mom will love reading this Charles. :+)

Leave a Reply

