Get down with your bad self, so to speak

How’s the hip thing, Sub-three?

I know you’ve all been wanting to ask me about my lingering injury.

Er… that’s hip as in above the thigh, not as in “Get down, Daddy-O! Groove, baby!” That kind of hip, right? Although I mean I am down with that hip stuff, phat people.

No, no. Phat! It’s like hip!

No, no, no, I would never comment on body image issues in that way. This blog is very politically correct.

Uh, what do you mean it’s not?

Well, yes, I have discussed Hunter S. Thompson before in these pages. What of it? He’s a great writer. Okay, I concede it is true that mention of good libations of cheer has occurred on this blog. But I’m talking about my hip.

No, damn it. My hip. Hip! Hip! Not hip! Hip!

It’s fine!

Thanks for asking!

Frig.

Geez.

But I’ve had the flu.

Yes, three days of fever hotter than the Burning Man Festival followed by body-wracking chills colder than the North Pole Marathon. Buckets of phlegm. Pitiful sessions of coughing reminiscent of some poor 18th Century wretch battling the plague in London.

Plus, work (yes, incredibly I do other things besides run and write about it) is picking up.

All that means not a whole lot of running has been getting done – and that’s frustrating. My idea of running a spring marathon is already fading faster than a warm day in January (it was plus 10 here today!).

But I am keen to run. I have a lot of new gear I’m currently testing (more on that in the next couple of weeks) and I’m hoping to tackle a half-marathon followed by a couple of legs of the Cabot Trail Relay Race for starters this spring.

My hip – thank you for asking! – is cooperating nicely now. Just before the flu laid me down lower than Jean -Claude Van Damme in The Expendables 2 (if you haven’t seen it yet and enjoy mindless action films, I highly recommend it), I was back building up my base and even starting some speed work.

The point is, I’m too hip to be kept down unless, er, I’m down with that, which is cool, if not hip.

About subthree

A multiple award-winning journalist, I'm currently a contributing editor with both Canadian Running and Canadian Cycling magazines. My articles have appeared in Explore, Canadian Geographic, enRoute, The National Post, The Globe and Mail, and many other magazines and newspapers. Formerly a competitive cross-country mountain biker, I switched to running in 2006. I've run seven marathons, qualifying for Boston five times (and which I've run once). Generally, I've placed or won in my age group in races, in distances ranging from five and 10 kms to half and full marathons. I've also taught spin classes at a number of leading Eastern Canadian gyms. Sub-three was a 2012 #Runchat finalist for Best Overall Blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Get down with your bad self, so to speak

  1. Cabot trail race sounds awesome. Hope your work keeps up, but you find a way to get more miles in.

Leave a Reply

