Rumours of my blog’s death are greatly exaggerated

Hi. Remember me? Subthree? Probably not. It’s been awhile since I wrote here. But back in the day (that would be about two months ago, but you know how time flies in the digital era) I was like Nirvana. You’d cry: “Entertain us!” And I did.

Okay, I wasn’t precisely like Nirvana. I was more like a Nirvana cover band. Well, a really, really bad Nirvana cover band. Um, well, really like a Nirvana cover band that was so terrible that the fact they were trying to play Nirvana was more or less impossible to tell.

Anyway...I used to do shoe reviews and write clever things – well, moderately funny; okay – geez! – stuff I found amusing and you’d all laugh at me instead of with me…well, what I’m trying to say is, I’m back to be laughed at again.

Uh, that didn’t quite come out right.

Subthree is back.

There. You know, it’s not so easy to write a clean sentence. That’s what I always loved about Elmore Leonard’s writing. He made it look simple. I once interviewed him in an Edmonton hotel room. He was a happy grandfather from Detroit who loved to play tennis and write about psychopaths.

But this isn’t about Leonard. Rather, I’m putting you folks on notice that Subthree is returning, with more gear reviews, more running highlights, more race reports than before.

So where was I, you wondered? (Actually, I know that you didn’t wonder once, but every now and again – okay, all the time – I like to flatter myself.)

I’ve been running. Not as much. And writing on the blog even less. After my marathon in August, my running became lacklustre again for a number of months. As readers of this blog know, I experimented with some different training methods and ultimately decided to return to what feels good.

Imagine that! Training by what feels good. That’s crazy!

I’ve been working out at the track once a week, where I like to show everyone up with my dazzling speed. My coach is very encouraging: “Get the lead out! You’re killing me and ruining my reputation. Only a dying worm could run slower than you!”

I know coaches are hard on their athletes in order to push them to new heights, so I eagerly soak up all of the aforementioned advice and wisdom. I’ll write some more about track experiences soon.

In terms of the writing, I’ve had to produce large volumes for my work, sometimes as much as five sentences a day. That proved to be a drain to my creative energy and something had to give. Unfortunately, it was the blog.

But the good news is I’ve managed to get my workload down to a more manageable level: seven or eight words daily. Therefore, I anticipate catching up on gear reviews and once again rejoining the world of writing runners. Or should that be running writers? Regardless, welcome back.

About subthree

A multiple award-winning journalist, I'm currently a contributing editor with both Canadian Running and Canadian Cycling magazines. My articles have appeared in Explore, Canadian Geographic, enRoute, The National Post, The Globe and Mail, and many other magazines and newspapers. Formerly a competitive cross-country mountain biker, I switched to running in 2006. I've run seven marathons, qualifying for Boston five times (and which I've run once). Generally, I've placed or won in my age group in races, in distances ranging from five and 10 kms to half and full marathons. I've also taught spin classes at a number of leading Eastern Canadian gyms. Sub-three was a 2012 #Runchat finalist for Best Overall Blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Rumours of my blog’s death are greatly exaggerated

  1. DLB says:

    Thank you for coming back! I missed reading your work.

  2. Ann says:

    So glad you are back. Sometimes a break is just what we need.

  3. Al DiMicco says:

    Oh, you were gone? I guess that was the void in my life that I couldn’t identify. Thanks for coming back and clearing that up.

  4. txa1265 says:

    Glad to see you back – this has been a big theme lately, people needing a break for whatever reason. It is important to take the time you need – this is supposed to be fun! 🙂

  5. Teresa says:

    Hahaha!

Leave a comment